The state allows people 21 and older to grow up to six plants in their residence for personal use only. Home growers cannot use volatile solvents butane or propane to process cannabis, according to the California Department of Cannabis Control. Keep in mind that if California Assembly Bill 1725 passes, anyone 18 or older who plants, grows, harvests, dries, or prosecutes will face felony charges, with a county jail sentence of 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years. 6.You can get a license to grow up to 99 medical marijuana plants in California.
California's 99-plant grow license allows you to grow more than the initial 6 or 12 immature plants. With this type of license, then you cannot grow more than that figure or else you will face the law. To outgrow this, you'll need a permit to keep it in your home. A permit can be obtained through a qualified doctor.
Under California SB 420, individual cannabis dispensaries can be grouped together to grow together as a non-profit collective entity, which can raise up to 99 plants. In most cases, growing more than 6 plants will be charged as a misdemeanor. California can now legally grow up to six marijuana plants at home, including the entire crop of those plants. Owners can prohibit cannabis cultivation due to odor, smoke, and planned modifications to the property.
With the California cultivation license, you are only allowed to grow cannabis for medical use only. The CalCannabis cultivation license, a division of the California Department of Food and Agriculture, released a set of proposed regulations that list 14 different grow licenses based on the size and activity of the growing operation. Specifically, this section of the code defines the crime of illegal cultivation of marijuana if someone between the ages of 18 and 20 grows marijuana. Under the Compassionate Use Act, qualified patients and their caregivers can grow cannabis for personal use, subject to local laws.